A New Vehicle and a Fresh Start

Having made the decision to start fresh with a new base vehicle, following the independent inspection of my existing Defender, I was very fortunate to have the expert assistance of David Lovejoy in Somerset. David writes a regular column in Land Rover Monthly magazine and has helped me with advice previously. Familiar with my plight, David quickly provided me with more advice and also knew of an unmolested County Station Wagon that was available. The photos looked good and David agreed to inspect the vehicle for me.

My County Station Wagon

The 1993 Land Rover Defender 110 200Tdi County Station Wagon (CSW) was in great shape and was in original condition with the exception of a stainless steel exhaust, a swing-away rear wheel carrier and a Kenlowe fan that had been fitted to replace the standard fan. There were a couple of issues with the vehicle but the seller agreed to fix those before the vehicle was sold. The CSW got a big ‘thumbs up’ from David and I agreed to buy it.

I’m buying the vehicle from Sam Storey in Devon. Sam acquires and sells quality Land Rovers. He can be contacted at millin.trading@gmail.com

I’m very happy to have a new base vehicle so that I can make a fresh start at creating a suitable overlander. This time around, I’m following David’s advice very closely with respect to the modifications that will be undertaken. We’ve agreed on the spec list (see Vehicle tab for details) and expect work to commence in the coming weeks. After many months of frustration, things are now looking positive.

This time around, most of the work will be done by Causeway 4×4 in Somerset, a garage that comes highly recommended by David.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

