I Splurged on a $4 Dinner Tonight!

For the last two nights at Nomad’s Home Guesthouse, I’ve had bread and cheese for dinner! It has been an easy option as I have cheese in the Defender’s fridge and I buy one of the local flat round loaves each day from a stall nearby. I’m loving the local bread!

Cold local draught beer
Cold local draught beer

Anyway, tonight I decided to ‘go out for dinner’ and walked to a cafe around the corner. I had a bowl of Lagman (a noodle dish with vegetables in a spicy sauce), a whole round of bread and a half-litre of local draught beer. All for the princely sum of $4. Very nice.

Bowl of Lagman, a basket of local bread (and my draught beer)
Bowl of Lagman, a basket of local bread (and my draught beer)

Lunch has been equally affordable for the past two days. Each day I’ve had two Samsa (meat and vegetables in a triangular pocket of flaky pastry). Very tasty and only $1 US for two. The other day I was walking around Bishkek and stopped at a shop to get a chocolate coated ice cream bar and a large bottle of water. $1 for both!

Kyrgyzstan is certainly good for maintaining a low travel budget!

 

Leave a Reply

