Greece

A five hour drive from Sofia got me to Thessaloniki in Greece. The Bulgaria-Greece border was quick and easy. It was a straight drive through the Bulgarian side (nobody checking anything on exit) and I had to wait behind three cars at the Greek side. Once at the booth, a quick look at my EU (UK) passport and I was through.

Most of the drive was on the E79 road but it is being repaired in a couple of places, so there were some detours to contend with. But overall, a decent drive.

I had pre-booked a room rate with free parking at the Hotel El Greco in Thessaloniki. I had a laugh when I pulled up outside the hotel and saw the parking sign next to a tiny vehicle elevator. I presume that the elevator takes cars down to an underground parking area. It might work well for Smart cars but there’s no way the Defender was squeezing into that small box. Fortunately, the hotel has an arrangement with a paid-parking garage around the corner, so the Defender is safely parked nearby.

The Defender outside the hotel 'looking' at the vehicle parking elevator
The Defender outside the hotel ‘looking’ at the vehicle parking elevator
There's no way she's fitting into that little box
There’s no way she’s fitting into that little box

Vehicle mileage for the trip to date is 17,739 miles (28,548km). I am still five days ahead of schedule but I’ll use up some of those saved days when I drive to Meteora, as that’s a destination that wasn’t part of my original route.

Leave a Reply

