Skopje at Night

Tonight, I left the Canon DSLR in the hotel and took out my Nikon point-and-shoot along with a small tripod. I managed to get a few photos of the buildings lit up at night.

View from the river bank - Skopje
View from the river bank – Skopje
The Stone Bridge and the Archaeology Museum
The Stone Bridge and the Archaeology Museum
Museum of Archaeology
Museum of Archaeology

DSCN5515

DSCN5517

The bridge leading to the Archaeology Museum
The bridge leading to the Archaeology Museum

I leave Skopje tomorrow and head to the town of Ohrid, Macedonia.

4 Comments

  1. Great lights at night, good photos. In 2012 I rode my motorcycle into Ohrid and stayed a couple of days there by the beautiful lake. There’s a wonderful pedestrian shopping and dining area there. When I left Lake Ohrid, I proceeded to the border of Albania. I was told in Macedonia that “There is no problem in Albania that a 5-Euro note can’t fix”. At the Albanian border I saw people handing over 5-Euro notes in their passports. But the border guards were handing them back, while pointing to a big sign that said “Denonca Korruptionismi”!

    1. Kelly, I heard so many stories about corrupt police and border officials before I started this trip but I’ve only personally experienced two occasions, and I haven’t paid any bribes yet!

  2. Craig – Glad you are enjoying Skopje, I was there 2010 – 2012 with the OSCE. The big statue in the square – “Not Alexander the Great” was just going up, as were all the other new buildings. Bet you are “statued” out by now – they were everywhere !! Nice to see the buildings finished.

    1. Meirion, yes, the statues are all over the place now as well as lots of new buildings (and more still being built). It seems the big statue in the square is just called ‘Warrior on a Horse’. All of the new building projects have their detractors, but the city has a nice vibe.

Leave a Reply

