Dobrota, Bay of Kotor

I left Ulcinj behind about 8.00am this morning  and it wasn’t long before I was enjoying the stunning coastal views that I had expected from Montenegro. In two hours, I had arrived at my accommodation in Dobrota on the beautiful Bay of Kotor.

Coastal view north of Ulcinj
Coastal view north of Ulcinj

Dobrota is located on the shore of the Bay of Kotor, about 5km from the town of Kotor. As I was too early to check-in, I parked the Defender outside and decided to walk the 5km along the narrow coastal road to Kotor. There are hotels and holiday apartments along much of the coastal road on the land side, whilst the water-side has multiple docks and pebble beaches where those staying in the hotels and apartments were sun-worshipping. The gorgeous views made the walk into town very pleasant.

The Bay of Kotor, as seen from the dock in front of my hotel
The Bay of Kotor, as seen from the dock in front of my hotel
The water in the bay is very clear
The water in the bay is very clear
Another view of the bay
Another view of the bay
All available dock space is utilised for sun-bathing
All available dock space is utilised for sun-bathing
Fishing off the dock is also popular. The town of Kotor is visible in he distance (centre-left)
Fishing off the dock is also popular. The town of Kotor is visible in the distance (centre-left)
The bay is hemmed in by mountains on all sides
The bay is hemmed in by mountains on all sides

When I got to the marina in the town of Kotor, I was surprised to the the Bermuda flag. It was on the super yacht Karima which is registered in Bermuda. The ship even has a helicopter onboard!

Helicopter and Bermuda flag
Helicopter and Bermuda flag
Bermuda registered super yacht Karima
Bermuda registered super yacht Karima

There were a few other superyachts in the marina, including the Prana and Sea Owl. For a glimpse at how the rich live, take a look at the interior of Super Owl via this link – Superyacht Sea Owl

Superyacht Sea Owl
Superyacht Sea Owl
Superyacht Prana
Superyacht Prana

Once I got into Kotor, I found a bay-side restaurant and had lunch – the biggest T-bone steak I’ve ever eaten!

Supersize T-bone steak for lunch
Supersize T-bone steak for lunch

Then it was time to walk the 5km back to the hotel and check in – with the hot sun beating down on my neck all the way back. But once I got checked in, clouds rolled in over the bay. The clouds have rolled on out now, so I think I’ll go and have a beer on the hotel’s dock and relax for a while. I’m hoping to be able to rent a boat tomorrow, so I have to check that out.

View from my hotel window as the clouds roll in
View from my hotel window as the clouds roll in

Leave a Reply

