I’ve Joined the Hordes in Dubrovnik

I left Dobrota this morning after a very pleasant two-night stay. The drive towards Dubrovnik involved driving south to Kotor and then back north up the opposite side of the bay, so it was a very pleasant drive. I’ve uploaded a 3-minute video clip from the dash-cam that gives a glimpse into this morning’s drive. Unfortunately, you only see glimpses of the bay on the right of the screen, but I think it is enough for you to get an appreciation for the beauty of the area. Click here to access the video.

Having driven around part of the bay, I then had to board a ferry for the short trip across the Gulf of Kotor so that I could continue the drive into Croatia. The map below shows the route that I took.

Route from Dobrota to Dubrovnik
Route from Dobrota to Dubrovnik
On the ferry across the Gulf of Kotor
On the ferry across the Gulf of Kotor

The day’s drive took about three hours, partly due to waiting for the ferry and then a traffic jam that slowed things down for a while. The border crossing into Croatia was reasonably swift. I was pulled over for a secondary check by Croatian Customs but after a quick look in the back of the Defender I was allowed to continue. The cost of hotel accommodation in Dubrovnik is very high. As a result, I made a reservation at a guesthouse that was at the cheaper end of the scale (and that still cost $95 per night). Once I’d got my luggage into the guesthouse, I walked to the old town for some sightseeing. Over the past few months I’ve been fortunate to have visited historic sites and buildings when there have been very few other tourists present. Sometimes I’ve been the only one there. Today, however, I joined the hordes of tourists who all wanted to see the old town of Dubrovnik. There were some parts of the town where it was impossible to take a decent photo as other tourists were constantly walking between me and the scene I wanted to photograph. Fortunately, when I wandered off along some of the lanes and up the steep sets of steps, the crowd thinned out significantly so that I was able to get some pictures.

Crowds of tourists cross the bridge into the old town
Crowds of tourists cross the bridge into the old town
Lots of tourists in the main lanes in the old town
Lots of tourists in the main lanes in the old town
There are many flights of steps leading to the higher levels in the town
There are many flights of steps leading to the higher levels in the town
Residents on this particular lane have decorated it with plants
Residents on this particular lane have decorated it with plants
The window of a small restaurant
The window of a small restaurant
Old buildings in the town
Old buildings in the town

I saw a sign saying ‘Cold drinks with the most wonderful view’ so went to check it out. It turned out to be a bar perched on the edge of the town wall with a view of the open ocean. The main attraction, however, was a bunch of guys jumping off rocks of various heights into the ocean. Two bottles of Becks beer cost the equivalent of $16.

Bar overlooking the ocean
Bar overlooking the ocean
Jumping off a rock into the ocean
Jumping off a rock into the ocean
A view of the bar from above
A view of the bar from above
A semi-submersible tour boat passes by
A semi-submersible tour boat passes by

After a late lunch, I decided to pay the entry fee to go up on the city walls. The admission was the equivalent of $20, which I thought was a bit steep. But bearing in mind that I paid $16 for two beers, the price didn’t seem quite as unreasonable. And the views from up on the walls are very good!

The large public drinking fountain inside the city walls
The large public drinking fountain inside the city walls
Looking over the town from the walls
Looking over the town from the walls
Part of the city walls
Part of the city walls
City walls encircling the old town/city
City walls encircling the old town/city
Marina at the eastern end of the old town
Marina at the eastern end of the old town
Looking outwards at the marina and tour-boat jetty
Looking outwards at the marina and tour-boat jetty
Churches and rooftops
Churches and rooftops
The exterior of the city walls
The exterior of the city walls
Looking over the old town
Looking over the old town
The bay beyond the old town
The bay beyond the old town

I just had today to visit Dubrovnik. Tomorrow I’ll drive across into Bosnia & Herzegovina and will stop in Mostar for lunch and a look around. I’ll then drive on to Sarajevo for a couple of nights.

2 Comments

  1. Great pictures again.

    The quality of your dash cam is amazing, so clear. It was more noticable on these videos because you can even see the submerged rocks under water in the bay as your driving past.

Leave a Reply

