Rainy Sarajevo

It has rained for most of the day today, so it hasn’t been conducive to taking many photos. I did have a wander around the old town for a while, dodging showers. The umbrella salesmen certainly had the best job today!

Umbrellas for sale in the old town of Sarajevo
Umbrellas for sale in the old town of Sarajevo
A rainy day in the old town shopping area
A rainy day in the old town shopping area
All of the shops in this lane sell local metalwork items
All of the shops in this lane sell local metalwork items
Pens made from spent ammunition cases
Pens made from spent ammunition cases
Pepper grinders and ash-trays
Coffee grinders and ash-trays

I paid a visit to the Sarajevo Assassination Museum but I wasn’t very impressed. It is a single small room with a few exhibits, primarily of clothing and weaponry from the past. I did learn a little more about the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand though, so I guess the small admission fee was worth it.

Sign on the wall of the Assassination Museum
Sign on the wall of the Assassination Museum
Replica (I assume) of the car that was carrying Franz Ferdinand when he was murdered (photographed yesterday when it was dry)
Replica (I assume) of the car that was carrying Franz Ferdinand when he was murdered (photographed yesterday when it was dry)
A monument to Franz Ferdinand was erected on this spot after the murder but it was removed two years later. Such is the nature of politics (and forced occupation of lands). The yellow building at the right of the picture is my hotel.
A monument to Franz Ferdinand was erected on this spot after the murder but it was removed two years later. Such is the nature of politics (and forced occupation of lands). The yellow building at the right of the picture is my hotel.

 

Part of the remains of Taslihan, an in or caravanserai that was built in 1543
Part of the remains of Taslihan, an in or caravanserai that was built in 1543
Taslihan - caravansarai
Taslihan – caravansarai
Entrance to Gazi Husrev-Bey Mosque
Entrance to Gazi Husrev-Bey Mosque
The wooden ceiling of a water fountain outside the Gazi Husrev-Bey Mosque
The wooden ceiling of a water fountain outside the Gazi Husrev-Bey Mosque

The rain finally eased up about 2.30pm which allowed me to wire in a new connector for one of the headlight bulbs on the Defender. I tried a bodge job a few days ago that held for a while but I was able to buy a new connector today, so I replaced the broken connector.

Now I’ll get on with some mundane admin tasks such as reconciling my credit/debit card expenditure with the bank statements. I guess rainy days do force some down time to get the boring stuff done.

Tomorrow I leave Sarajevo and head to the towns of Jajce and Travnik to see the lakes, watermills and waterfall. That will be my last night in Bosnia before I cross back into Croatia.

Leave a Reply

