Venice – Day One

There was torrential rain and a brief thunderstorm during the drive from Ljubljana (Slovenia) to Venice (Italy), but by the time I arrived at the Ca’Nova Hotel in Marghera, the rain had stopped. I checked in and by 3.00pm, I was on the bus to Venice. The 10km ride takes about 15 minutes and the bus stops very close to the hotel, so it is very convenient.

When I got off the bus, I had no idea how Venice was laid out so, for the first half-hour I just wandered around the streets and canals. Then I bought a tourist map and a ticket for Water Bus #2 to take me to San Marco. After studying the map during the boat ride, I began to get an idea of  the layout.

A quiet canal on the outskirts
A quiet canal on the outskirts
Stone bridge
Stone bridge
Canal boat
Canal boat
Quiet canal
Quiet canal
Canal house
Canal house
Gondolas on the Grand Canal
Gondolas on the Grand Canal
Basilica di Santa Maria, viewed from San Marco
Basilica di Santa Maria, viewed from San Marco
Piazza di San Marco
Piazza di San Marco
Piazza di San Marco
The campanile di San Marco (St. Mark’s Campanile) in Piazza di San Marco. The tallest bell tower in Venice.
Basilica di San Marco
Basilica di San Marco
Puente de los Suspiros - Bridge of Sighs
Puente de los Suspiros – Bridge of Sighs
A covered bridge
A covered bridge
It's not Pisa - but it is leaning!
It’s not Pisa – but it is leaning!
Campo di san Giorgio, viewed from San Marco
Campo di San Giorgio, viewed from San Marco

Having walked along the waterfront to Arsenale, I stopped for drinks and dinner at the San Giorgio Ristorante. A couple of cold draught beers followed by tuna tartare and tagliatelle with shrimp and asparagus, washed down with a glass of merlot. Lovely!

The Costa Magica (sister ship to Costa Concordia) leaves port as I watch from the restaurant
The Costa Magica (sister ship to Costa Concordia) leaves port as I watch from the restaurant
Tagliatelle and a glass of merlot
Tagliatelle and a glass of merlot

After dinner, I walked from San Marco to Rialto, where I boarded the #2 water bus back to the bus station.

A narrow alley on the way to Rialto
A narrow alley on the way to Rialto
A gondolier looks for customers
A gondolier looks for customers
The Rialto Bridge
The Rialto Bridge
Police boats
Police boats
An ambulance speeds under the Rialto Bridge whilst a gondola rides its wake
An ambulance speeds under the Rialto Bridge whilst a gondola rides its wake
Tight Squeeze Balconies!
Tight Squeeze Balconies!
Sundown on the Grand Canal
Sundown on the Grand Canal

By 8.00pm, I was back on the bus to Marghera. In just under five hours, I got an initial feel for Venice and will be back tomorrow, better prepared to see more of the sights.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

