Hanoi For New Year

With the Cambodia and Golden Triangle motorcycle tours already booked, I’m now in the process of organising the parts of the trip on either side of the bike tours. The first part of the trip is now also booked.

I depart Bermuda on Boxing Day, 26th December, en-route to Bangkok. The journey will route me through New York and Hong Kong, including a 16 hour flight between JFK and Kong Kong! After three nights in Bangkok to recover, I fly to Hanoi, Vietnam for the New Year.

I’ve booked to stay at the Hanoi Elegance Ruby in Hanoi’s Old Quarter. Ranked #6 of 521 Hanoi Hotels by Trip Advisor, it only costs $52 per night. The Trip Advisor reviews enthuse about the service at the hotel and I can already see why. In less than 24 hours, the hotel has been able to confirm my reservation, including a two-day/one night cruise-tour of Halong Bay, and will also arrange my airport transfers and my Vietnam tourist visa. Excellent service already.

So I’ll be spending New year’s Eve in Hanoi, before heading on the boat cruise to beautiful Halong Bay. I don’t know what to expect for New Year’s Eve, as the Vietnamese Tet celebrations coincide with the lunar calendar, and won’t occur until February.

V'Spirit Cruise boat in Halong Bay
V’Spirit Cruise boat in Halong Bay

From Vietnam, I’ll fly directly to Chiang Mai for the start of the bike tours. I still have to arrange the last part of the trip, that will include a visit to Luang Prabang in Laos. It’s all coming together nicely 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Hi,
    Just to say Halong Bay is amazing, hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
    When we first visited Luang Probang there was the grand total of 12 cars registered in the whole of the city, a little bit different now but still nice to see,

    Enjoy Dave

Leave a Reply

