New Camera – Sony DSC-RX100 IV

As my upcoming trip to South East Asia will involve a lot of motorcycle travel, I decided that I need a new camera. I love my Canon EOS 50D DSLR but it is too heavy and bulky to be ‘worn’ whilst motorcycling. And I wouldn’t want to subject it to being bounced around in a storage box/bag on the bike. My Nikon Coolpix S630 has served me well as a compact back-up camera but it isn’t responsive enough and has some limitations that make it unsuitable to serve as the only camera for the trip.

I decided to find a compact camera that has some of the features of a DSLR. After some online research, I decided to buy a Sony DSC-RX100 mark IV. The reviews of this camera are excellent, with comments such as:

  • Some of the best image quality in any compact camera, ever.
  • The most capable camera of its kind.
  • A photographic powerhouse
  • The RX100 IV garners our top award for its pure ambition. Its class-defining image and video quality raise the bar even further, widening the gap between it and any potential competition. As such, the RX100 IV is, today, peerless.

A comprehensive review of the camera can be found at the DPReview site using this link – Camera Review

Sony DSC-RX100 IV
Sony DSC-RX100 IV

I bought my Sony camera whilst on a recent trip to New York, from my favourite camera store B&H Photo. I haven’t really scratched the surface yet regarding the camera’s capabilities, but I’m already confident that this will be a very suitable camera for my upcoming trip. Some of the features that I already like about the camera include:

  • Pop-up viewfinder as an alternate to the LCD screen
  • LCD screen tilts and flips (great for taking selfies and knowing what is being captured)
  • Pop-up flash
  • Top dial makes it easy to switch camera modes between Program and Scene options
  • Fast focus with focus points highlighted on the screen (or viewfinder)
Top view of Sony DSC-RX100 IV
Top view of Sony DSC-RX100 IV

Now I need to get out and spend some time using the camera, so that I can become acquainted with its many features.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

